Who are we?

Cap Moderne, a non-profit-making association pursuant to the law of 1901 set up in 2014, has been charged by the Conservatoire du littoral with the rehabilitation and tourist, cultural and commercial management of the Eileen Gray - Etoile de Mer - Le Corbusier site located at Roquebrune-Cap-Martin.

Born of the rapprochement between the Eileen Gray–Le Corbusier Endowment Fund and the Eileen Gray-Etoile de Mer-Le Corbusier Association, Cap Moderne is presided by Michael Likierman. Its Vice-President is Magda Rebutato.

The mission of the Cap Moderne Association is to:

  • ensure protection and maintenance of the site, its buildings and the art works contained therein;
  • provide project management for the restoration work required for the rehabilitation of the site;
  • arrange access to the site, visits by the public and cultural events in conditions compatible with the need to preserve its ecology, landscape and heritage.

Since May 2nd, 2018, the Centre des monuments nationaux operates the site.

The Committee of Honour

Cap Moderne is fortunate to enjoy the support of a Committee of Honour composed of leading public figures.

The President of the Committee is HSH Prince Albert of Monaco.

The other members are:

HRH Princesse Ghida Talal
HE Geraldine Byrne-Nason
HE Bernardino Regazzoni
Mahmoud Al-Aboud
Zeev Aram
Laurent Asscher
Evelyne Bruckner
Martine Cesari
Stéphane Dokhan
Nancy Dotta
Jean-Pierre Duport
Bechara El Khoury
Smadar Eisenberg
Sandra Geering
Philippe Laik
Mary McGuckian
Paul McGuinness
Tatiana Parackova
John Porter
Maxim Vengerov
Miroslav Vyboh

The Board of Trustees

Bureau :
  • Michael Likierman, President
  • Magda Rebutato, Vice-President
  • Richard Laurenti, Treasurer
  • Denis Berthelot
  • François Cottignies
  • Francis Ferrero
  • Serge Gautier
Other members :
  • Tim Benton
  • Pierre-André Carpentier

Cap Moderne’s principal partners

See the page “Our Partners”

Our scientific partners

Cap Moderne enjoys the scientific support of numerous researchers, several of whom are members of the Association’s Scientific Committee.

The Scientific Committee of Cap Moderne is composed of the following members:
  • Jean-Louis Cohen (Président du comité scientifique), Professeur en Histoire de l'architecture, Institute of Fine Arts of New York University, NYU, New York, Professeur invité au Collège de France
  • Bernard Bauchet, architecte, membre de la Commission Nationale des Monuments Historiques, membre du Comité d'experts de la Fondation Le Corbusier
  • Jean-Lucien Bonillo, architecte et historien, Professeur à l'Ecole d'architecture de Marseille
  • Agnès Cailliau, architecte des Bâtiments de France, Présidente de DOCOMOMO France
  • François Goven, Inspecteur Général des Monuments Historiques
  • Maria Gravari-Barbas, architecte, Professeur de Géographie, Directrice IREST (Institut de Recherche et d'Études Supérieures du Tourisme) Paris 1 Panthéon Sorbonne, Directrice de la Chaire UNESCO "Culture, Tourisme, Développement", Coordinatrice du réseau UNITWIN UNESCO "Culture, Tourisme, développement"
  • Mary McLeod, Professor of Architecture, Columbia University, New York
  • Arthur Rüegg, architect, writer, past Professor ETH Zurich
  • Wilfried Wang, architect, writer, Professor School of Architecture, University of Austin, Texas, Deputy Director of the Architecture Section, academy of the Arts, Berlin.
  • Frédéric Migayrou, Centre Georges Pompidou, Paris
  • Tim Benton, Emeritus Professor, Open University, UK
  • Guillemette Gardette, Director Médiéval, France


One of the topics under consideration by the Scientific Committee is the PSC (scientific and cultural project) which lays down the framework for development of the site. The PSC was drawn up, at Cap Moderne’s request, under the direction of Guillemette Gardette, head of the cultural consultancy agency Médiéval-AFDP and by Tim Benton, Emeritus Professor of art history (Open University - England) and member of the Eileen Gray - Etoile de Mer - Le Corbusier Association, and with a contribution from Philippe Deliau, head of the landscaping consultants Atelier Lieux et Paysages ALEP and Claudia Devaux, architect for heritage with the David Devaux Architects agency.

In scientific terms, the Le Corbusier Foundation constitutes a partner of prime importance. This Foundation is coordinating the application for the inscription on Unesco’s List of World Heritage Sites of Le Corbusier’s Architectural Work. The Cabanon at Roquebune-Cap-Martin already features on this list. Moreover, the Le Corbusier Foundation, with the ADAGP, has granted Cap Moderne the right to use the visuals of Le Corbusier’s work.

Other scientists have made contributions too. Among them we should mention the very considerable contributions by Renaud Barrès, as well as those made by Claude Prelorenzo, Bruno Chiambretto, Pierre-Antoine Gatier, Bénédicte Gandini, Marie-Odile Hubert, Peter Adam, Nerte Fustier-Dautier, Monique Baillon, Jean-Michel Bossu and Eric de Backer. We must also mention the contributions from university workshops such as that held in 2008-2009 with the participation of the Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale of Lausanne, the Academy of Architecture of Mendrisio and the Ecole Nationale Supérieure d'architecture of Marseille.

Robert Jourdan (regional curator for Historic Monuments), Yves Cranga (curator), Christophe Curial (conservation officer) and Luc Albouy (architect with Bâtiments de France) also make scientific and technical contributions whenever an appraisal is needed for rehabilitation operations carried out on the site.

Financial partners

Cap Moderne receives public subsidies
  • from the Ministry of Culture and Communication in respect of its Historic Monument status
  • from the Conservatoire du littoral
  • from the local and regional authorities.

The Association receives major logistical support from Roquebrune-Cap-Martin town, the latter’s technical departments and from the tourist office.

Cap Moderne also receives support from private sponsors.

Sponsors include the following partners:

  • the Eileen Gray - Le Corbusier Endowment Fund
  • Michael Likierman
  • Aram Designs
  • Friends of E-1027
  • the Le Corbusier Foundation
  • and from other sponsors who wish to remain anonymous

Cap Moderne benefits indirectly from sponsorship granted to the Conservatoire du littoral: www.conservatoire-du-littoral

Lafarge gave support in terms of know-how towards the restoration of Villa E-1027.

Making a donation

If you wish to make a donation, and participate in the Cap Moderne project by becoming a sponsor of the site, you may be entitled to tax relief of up to 60% (businesses) and 66% (private individuals) of the value of your donation, in accordance with the law of 2003 on sponsorship.

See the page “Making a donation”

Contact us

email :


Telephone :

00 33 6 48 72 90 53 (from Tuesday to Sunday, from 10 a.m. to 5 p.m.)

Postal address:

Association Cap Moderne,
Esplanade de la gare,
Avenue Le Corbusier,

Administrative address:

Association Cap Moderne,
Hôtel Victoria,
7, promenade du Cap,
06190 Roquebrune-Cap-Martin